Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

38 Nations Confirmed for 2014 FIL World Championship

February 7, 2014    19311 Views

2014 FIL World Championship

BALTIMORE — A record 38 nations have been confirmed to compete in the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship, which will be held July 10-19 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo., the “Official Competition City” for the 10-day event, which is expected to attract as many as 150,000 visitors.

The 38-team field is headlined by the defending champion, the United States, and will include nine first-time entrants. The nations competing for the first time in an FIL men’s world championship will be Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Russia, Thailand, Turkey and Uganda. Uganda will be the first team from Africa to compete in an FIL world championship.

The previous record for number of teams competing in an FIL world championship was 29, set at the 2010 FIL men’s world championship in Manchester, England. The United States defeated Canada 12-10 in the gold medal game that year, avenging a loss to the Canadians from the 2006 world championship. The last time this quadrennial event was held in the United States was 1998, when 11 nations competed in Baltimore with the host U.S. edging Canada 15-14 in overtime.

Full-event ticket packages to the world championship, which include admission to more than 125 games over 10 days, along with access to the International Village and Vendor Village, are now on sale at

In addition to the world championship, registration is currently open for the boys’ youth and men’s masters’ World Festivals that will be held in conjunction with the event at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. More than 125 teams have already signed up for the World Festivals. Visit for more information about age groups and registering a team.

The final schedule for the championship will be announced in early March. Here are the competing nations:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Iroquois Nationals
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United States
  • Wales

World Cup History

1967Toronto, OntarioUnited States*AustraliaN/A
1974Melbourne, AustraliaUnited States3-way tie20-14
1978Stockport, EnglandCanadaUnited States17-16 (OT)
1982Baltimore, Md.United StatesAustralia22-14
1986Toronto, OntarioUnited StatesCanada18-9
1990Perth, AustraliaUnited StatesCanada19-15
1994Manchester, EnglandUnited StatesAustralia21-7
1998Baltimore, Md.United StatesCanada15-14 (OT)
2002Perth, AustraliaUnited StatesCanada18-15
2006London, OntarioCanadaUnited States15-10
2010Manchester, EnglandUnited StatesCanada12-10

* Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the U.S. at the 1967 World Championship, which was formatted as a round-robin tournament.

2014 World Championships

Grab your seats today to be a part of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Ticket packages are now available, and make a perfect gift for the lacrosse fan in your family.

Purchase Tickets

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog