US Lacrosse has named Elaine Knobloch and Warren Kimber (posthumous) as the recipients of the organization’s 2017 Lifetime Achievement Awards, recognizing outstanding career contributions and impact to the sport of lacrosse. Both winners will be officially recognized by US Lacrosse on September 23 at The Grand Lodge in Baltimore.

Knobloch, who lives in Rockville, Maryland, has served the game in numerous capacities for over 35 years. She has been instrumental in the development of the game in the Washington, D.C. area for three decades, serving as a coach, clinician, educator and administrator. She recently completed a five-year term as the president of the US Lacrosse Potomac Chapter, after having previously served eight years as vice-president. She has been a member of the chapter’s board of directors since 1992.

Knobloch has been a high school and middle school girls’ coach since 2004, and has been director of the Metro Girls’ Lacrosse League since 1997. For the past 20 years, she has also served as umpire assignor for the Washington Lacrosse Umpires Association, and since 1994, she has been the director of the Washington Women’s Summer Lacrosse League.  Knobloch has organized and directed girls’ youth clinics in Rockville since 1998.

A 1982 graduate of the University of Delaware, Knobloch was a four-year member of the lacrosse team who helped lead UD to the 1981 NCAA national championship. She became a board member of the United States Women’s Lacrosse Association (USWLA) in 1986, and also served as the organization’s treasurer from 1993-1998. She was treasurer for the Women’s World Cup Tournament in 1993 and 1997, and for the Women’s U-19 World Cup in 1995. Knobloch has been inducted into four Halls of Fame.

Kimber, who passed away in 2015, is being honored posthumously for nearly three decades of service to the sport. A former lacrosse and football player at Hobart College, Kimber remained active with lacrosse throughout his life. He was an intercollegiate official who eventually became the national coordinator of men’s lacrosse officials for the NCAA and the district assigning director for the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

A longtime resident of Summit, N.J., Kimber was a member of and chief referee for the New Jersey Interscholastic Lacrosse Officials Association and a member of the USILA Metro-New York Officials Association.  He was chief referee for the USILA for over 20 years. In 1997, he was among the first inductees into the New Jersey Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.  

As national coordinator of lacrosse officials for the NCAA and district assigning director for the USILA, Kimber organized the coverage of all collegiate games at the NCAA Division I, II and III levels and annually selected the officials for the Final Four.

Kimber also remained active with the Pingry School in New Jersey, from which he graduated in 1952. He served the Pingry School as a trustee for 19 years, including as chairman of the board from 1988 to 1995. In 1983 he received the school’s Letter-in-Life award and in 1995 the school bestowed on him its Citizen of the Year award. He was also a trustee of Hobart College and served on the NCAA’s board of directors.

“Elaine and Warren have made extraordinary contributions to lacrosse over many years,” said Steve Stenersen, president and CEO of US Lacrosse.  “Their common bond has been a selfless dedication to advancing our sport, and it's both a pleasure and an honor for US Lacrosse to recognize them as recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards.”

Primary criteria for Lifetime Achievement consideration include the following:

• Outstanding accomplishment as a player, coach, administrator or official in combination with participation and leadership activities in local, regional, and national lacrosse organizations over the span of a career.
• Demonstrated commitment to the sport of lacrosse that exceeds the norm.
• Demonstrated passion and vision for the sport of lacrosse through action.
• Character beyond reproach.

The US Lacrosse Men’s and Women’s Game Hall of Fame Subcommittees make the selections for the award, which must be approved by the organization’s Board of Directors.