Opening ceremonies for the 2017 FIL Rathbones World Cup begin on Wednesday in Guildford, England and the U.S. team will open defense of its world title on Thursday with a game against Scotland.

A record 25 nations are participating in this year's World Cup and the U.S. team is joined in Pool A by Australia, Canada, England, Scotland and Wales. The U.S. pool play schedule follows (all times local to England):

Thursday, July 13: vs. Scotland, 3 p.m.
Friday, July 14: vs. Australia, 3 p.m.
Saturday, July 15: vs. England, 6 p.m.
Sunday, July 16: vs. Canada, 6 p.m.
Tuesday, July 18: vs. Wales, 5 p.m.

All games will be streamed live via pay-per-view packages that include single game and full-event options.

The playoffs begin on Wednesday, July 19 with the quarterfinal round, followed by the semifinals on July 20 and the championship game on July 22.

The U.S. team is the favorite entering the championship, having won seven of nine overall World Cups, including the two most recent in 2009 and 2013. Two-time World Cup champions Sarah Bullard and Devon Wills are serving as the captains for the team.

“We’re excited to show the world how this United States team is going to play, but at the same time, it’s something we have to go earn,” head coach Ricky Fried said after an exhibition game victory against 2013 runner-up Canada. “We need to stay focused, play to our standard. Don’t relax and don’t take it for granted.”

Support Team USA

Help support the U.S. women's national team as they look to bring home another gold medal. All donations in the month of July will be matched by USL Foundation board member Sylvester Miniter.

Donate Today