Rachael Becker DeCecco is the only defender, male or female, to have won the Tewaaraton as the nation’s top collegiate player.

She did so because of her individual dominance, but also because of her role in leading Princeton to the top of the college lacrosse world.

She was a star on Princeton’s 2002 national championship team, but became even more important for a 2003 team that suffered significant graduation losses.

“Senior year was much more of a battle,” DeCecco said. “Our class was smaller. We had just lost half of our starting lineup and we started off 0-3. The national championship is always a goal. I think we recognized that was going to be an uphill battle and maybe none of us expected to get back there.”

DeCecco shares her thoughts on Princeton’s run for a second straight title ahead of her induction into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame this year as a truly great player. 

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life.

Becker DeCecco and the other members of the Class of 2019 will be officially recognized at the induction ceremony in Hunt Valley, Maryland on Saturday, October 19. RPS Bollinger and the Markel Insurance Company serve as sponsors of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame induction ceremony. 

Join the Celebration

Tickets for the 2019 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are available to the public for online purchase.

Buy Tickets