Returning to Round Rock, Texas this spring, the 2020 WCLA Championship Tournament will be the largest in the 20-year history of the event.  

With recent approval from both the WCLA Committee and the US Lacrosse Board of Directors, the championship field will feature 32 total teams this year, divided equally among Division I and Division II. 

Nearly 230 non-varsity collegiate teams comprise the WCLA and compete under the US Lacrosse umbrella. The annual Division I and Division II National Championships showcase the WCLA’s premier teams. 

Started in 2001, the WCLA Championship Tournament has traditionally featured a 16-team Division I line-up, which does not change this year. However, the 2020 event features the addition of four teams for the expanded Division II championship, marking the first time the division will include 16 teams. The tournament will be played at the Round Rock Multipurpose Complex, May 6-9.

“We are pleased to offer more teams the opportunity to participate in this marquee championship event,” said Caitlin Kelley, women’s game director at US Lacrosse. “This expansion reflects the continued growth of the game at the collegiate club level, as well as the ever-increasing level of competitiveness within the WCLA ranks. We are looking forward to hosting a strong field of teams with great competition for both the D-I and D-II championships.”

The Division I and II championship fields both feature a mix of conference champion automatic qualifiers as well as at-large qualifiers. Pittsburgh is the defending Division I national champion, while Loyola Maryland is the two-time defending Division II champion.